How to Podcast Without a Podcasting Studio

Podcasting in the Park

podcasting gear

Podcasting is my art form. I started podcasting in 2014. Interviewing founders and people working in tech was my way to celebrate community, share incredible stories about amazing builders, risk takers. It was a way to relate to people like me living life outside the norm. 

At this point I’ve produced and hosted over 1,000 podcast episodes - mostly in person. Then the pandemic hit and I was 💯 remote. After two years of virtual interviews I am ready for a change… but I wasn’t eager to be back in studio again. So… my friend Abhi asked me “what do you want most out of life right now…” and I responded “to be in nature”. When Abhi and I were talking, I was walking. Then it occurred to me, why not podcast in nature, get to know Los Angeles, the city I was born and raised in but always traveled away from. There is so much beauty here to see. 

I soon met Tyler Denk serendipitously thanks to Abhi, and I asked him if he’d be open to be on the WeAreLATech podcast for his LA startup Beehiiv and when he agreed I followed up with if he’d be down to meet out and about to record the interview. I don’t think he knew what he was getting himself into. Haha. 

I google mapped a local park in his area with epic views and at 5pm just days later we met. I felt like I was in touch with my curious artistic self that inspired me to podcast day 1 back in 2014. It was an amazing full of life adventurous experience taking chances. I look forward to doing many more WeAreLATech podcasts in the park, reinvigorating my spirit and leaning back into exploration and experimentation. 

Thanks Abhi for being an amazing supportive friend and to Tyler for going along with the unexpected. 

Danielle Farage asked for the podcast tech stack I used today - here it goes…

My 'on the go' podcast tech stack 🎙 

⏺ Zoom Podtrack P4 digital recorder 

📹 Mevo video camera 

📹 Neo Air Selfie selfie drone

🎧Monster headphones

🎤 Peavey mics

⚡️Charmast charger

🔋 Energizer batteries 

🦍 Gorilla tripod 

🎤 XLR cables multiple lengths 

📱 iPhone 

🔌 Charging cords 

🎒 Backpack